History & Heritage in Jandowae
Original railway stations, restored slab huts and war memorials make up Jandowae’s history and heritage. Check out the two-metre-high dingo statue marking the start of the Dingo Barrier Fence – the longest fence in the world.
Jandowae’s history and heritage spans Athlone Cottage – a restored original slab built circa. 1890, the Dingo Sculpture marking the start of the Dingo Barrier Fence – the longest fence in the world, the Old Railway Station – Jandowae’s original railway station and the Jandowae War Memorial, commemorating the locals enlisted in WWI. To further turn back the pages of history, head to neighbouring Jimbour for the pristine Jimbour House and gardens and Warra for its monuments and parks.
Athlone Cottage – located on the corner of High and Dalby Streets, the slab hut was originally built circa. 1890 and was lovingly restored by volunteers.
Dingo Sculpture – located on the corner of George and High Streets, this monument marks the start of the 5,400km Dingo Barrier Fence – the longest fence in the world.
Old Railway Station – located in the Lions Park on High Street is the original Jandowae railway station.
Jandowae War Memorial – located on George Street commemorates the locals enlisted in WWI.
Jimbour Tractor – located at the Jimbour Recreation Reserve, this classic Clayton Shuttleworth tractor was the first to plough the Jimbour Plain and is a testament to the early pioneers of the area.
Leichhardt Monument – located next to the tractor, marks the site where Leichhardt and his party camped during their Port Essington expedition in 1844.
Jimbour House – located at Jimbour Station on the Jimbour Station Road. A majestic and charming heritage listed homestead on the great pastoral run of Jimbour Station. Jimbour Station was first taken up as a grazing lease by Henry Scoughall in the early 1840’s.
Historic Jimbour Cemetery – located on the Jimbour Station Road, this little cemetery dates from 1857 – 1905 and is the resting place of Jimbour’s pioneers.
Miners Monument – located on the Warrego Highway is only metres from the original mine shaft and pays tribute to the miners who supplied coal to the steam trains that plied the ‘Western Line’. This was the first government owned coal mine and was opened in 1914.
Richard Best Park – located on the Warrego Highway is a beautiful little rest area and contains a number of significant historical artefacts. The original railway station has been relocated to this site and the Haystack School building is nearby.
Warra Hall Honour Board – located at the Warra Memorial Hall on the Warrego Highway, the board honours the 134 men and women sho served in WWI.
Campsite of Ludwig Leichhardt – located on Lytton Street, this is the campsite of Ludwig Leichhardt and his party on the 4th October 1844 as they passed through the area on their Port Essington Expedition.
This is an unusual corner is the home of poignant and heroic stories as well as tall tales. Jandowae barman Mick Brazier gave the name “Trumpeters” to the 21 WWII veterans who drew Soldier Settlement blocks in the region. The men would meet in pub, telling yarns and ‘blow their own trumpet’. this quiet and peaceful corner now attracts visitors who cannot fail to be moved by the stories.