App Coming Soon!

Jandowae and Surrounds

Jandowae was first proclaimed by European settlement in 1862 and referred to as ‘Jindowie’, an Aboriginal word meaning ‘waterhole’. In the early 1870s, a man by the name of John Dowaie leased a holding paddock here and established a store. Drovers and teamsters would lease the paddock to rest their stock and Jindowie became known as ‘John Dowaie Camp’ amongst travellers.

When the railway branch line extended to the settlement in 1914, it was renamed ‘Jandowae’ to avoid confusion with nearby Jondaryan.
The railway brought with it new commercial and economic opportunities and our township sprang to life.

Grab your copy of the Wild Dog Barrier Fence brochure at our Visitor Information Centres.

Jandowae

Classic Queensland architecture and heritage shop fronts give our town character and charm. Spend some time exploring our historic attractions and meet the locals on market day.

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Check out our trio of classic Queensland pubs, the ‘Top Pub’, the ‘Middle Pub’ and the ‘Bottom Pub’ (with one painted pink), as well as shop facades from the 1950s.
  • Take a picnic to historic Athlone Cottage (circa. 1890).
  • Discover the northern end of the world’s longest fence, the Dingo Barrier.
  • Don’t miss market day, which is held on the fourth Sunday of every month.  The Jandowae Timbertown Festival is held in June every second year and celebrates the town’s early timber industry.

Jimbour

Home to a tiny Queensland school, a classic Clayton Shuttleworth tractor and an iconic heritage-listed homestead, Jimbour is a tiny town around 15 minutes north-west of Dalby.

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Discover Jimbour Station, the great pastoral run that prompted the formation of the Jimbour township. While the heritage Jimbour House is a private residence, the owners graciously welcome guests to explore their gardens.
  • One of Queensland’s premier music events, Opera at Jimbour is held every second year on the grounds of Jimbour House at the spectacular amphitheatre.

Warra

First settled in the 1840s, Warra’s beautifully maintained park is a testament to the town’s proud railway heritage and a pleasant rest stop.

HIGHLIGHTS

  • Stop off for a cuppa at the restored railway station to the right of the Warrego Highway when you head west through town.
  • Stock up on local produce at the markets held on the second Sunday of the month.
  • Mingle with the locals at our annual Warra Race Day in July when our population almost triples.

Contact

For more information on experiencing the Western Downs contact one of our friendly Visitor Information Centres
Ph: 1300 COUNCIL (1300 268 624)
(07) 4679 4000 for interstate callers or email: info@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Subscribe to our Newsletter

* Indicates required